Schedule For ICC Women’s World T20 Cricket Announced

The International Cricket Council has announced the schedule for the ICC Women’s World T20 2018, to be held in the West Indies from November 9th to 24th, 2018.
The tournament will feature ten teams; reigning ICC Women’s World Cup winners England, three time champions Australia, defending champions Windies, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and two other qualifiers. The tournament is scheduled to be played across three venues in the Caribbean.
Finalists of the ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifier, which takes place in the Netherlands from July 7th -14th, 2018 will complete the line-up of the November tournament which is the first stand-alone ICC Women’s World T20 event. Participating teams of the Qualifying event are Bangladesh, Ireland, the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand, Uganda and the United Arab Emirates.
All 23 matches of the ICC Women’s World T20, 2018 will be broadcast live to maintain the momentum and focus on women’s cricket, while the Decision Review System (DRS) will be used for the first time in any ICC World T20 event, ensuring consistency in the use of technology in top world-level events.
In Group A are defending champions Windies along with England, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Qualifier 1 from the Netherlands event. Group B will consist of Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and Qualifier 2.
The event kicks off at the Guyana National Stadium starting with the following matches.
Match 1 -India vs. New Zealand
Match 2 – Australia vs. Pakistan
Match 3 – Windies vs. Qualifier 1
The venue will also host matches between arch rivals India and Pakistan on November 11th, 2018 and a match between Australia and New Zealand will follow two days later.
The Darren Sammy Cricket Ground will be the other venue for the group stage. This venue will host matches starting with England and Sri Lanka as the first which takes place on November 10th, 2018.
The Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua will host both semi-finals on November 22nd, 2018 and the final on November 24th, 2018.
ICC Women’s World T20 tournament director, Jennifer Nero, said: “The West Indies is one of the great places in the world for sports, entertainment and culture. Cricket is the heartbeat of the West Indies and we want to show case all these offerings during the tournament. It will be fast-paced, exciting and action-packed with lots of enjoyable moments. This is the Year of the Woman, and the world’s top teams will be coming.
 “Here in the West Indies, we are committed to playing a major role in the continued growth and development of the sport. We want to invite the cricket world to be part of this exhilarating world-class event on and off the field,” she said.
The director urges fans to come out and see the best players in the modern game.